RSS Feed

Posted on

Taipei For A Day

Finally home from Taipei. We took the 9:30 high speed train to Taipei and got there in 1 hour and 45 minutes. That’s mighty fast!! Compared to the 4-5 hour drive. Might expensive, too. But time was of the essence. We took the 6:36 pm train back.

When we arrived there, we went to eat at Taipei 101, at their food court. My mom ordered this Chinese herb soup, I had another soup that was too bland 😐 I liked that one, surprisingly, the Chinese herb soup. I usually hate that kind.

Then we went to the coffee machine supplier’s office, which was located beside 101, inside the exhibit building? It’s such a shame , there is going to be a 3-day international coffee, tea and (wine) expo starting this Friday. And contractors and workers were working on the booths that looked really grand and fancy… I would have wanted to attend that event! But maybe next time! So we got the coffee machine at a discounted rate.

I was happy about that. He let us try the very expensive Kopi Luwak/Civet coffee, it is an Indonesian novelty coffee. I have to say, it’s the first time I enjoyed black coffee, and it didn’t leave the acidic or sour after taste like some coffees do. But I hear it’s overpriced and industrialized in the recent years. It was priced at NT 7,500/250 grams!! But it was really, really good. I was going to carry it to Ximending, but by the time I got to the elevator it got heavy and my arm hurt. So we went back and asked him to ship it to our home in Tainan. Hehe. I would not have enjoyed shopping for glasses if I had that in my hand. I learned a few things about the coffee business, too. Styles of roasting, and the beans and how the location affects its acidity/alkalinity, etc. I like their philosophy, it really is about coffee’s sophistication and it being an art instead of the casualness cafes make them to be. So Michael, the guy, he said it has to be middle-upper price strategy because their beans are good and have 25 years or history, so we just have to create the coffee experience we want the customers to have, and find a nice location. There is a lot of thinking to be done, obviously.

We took a cab to Ximending because we got tired of walking. I was shocked to see a female driver who had dark glasses on, but she said it’s quite common lately – not the wearing of glasses, but women driving cabs. What men can do women can do, she says. She was a lousy driver though, and I believe she took us on a route that took more time to get there. I feel ripped off, but scared at the same time. We felt she didn’t know we spoke Taiyu because when we told her to go to Ximending, she made a call asking where Ximending is in Taiyu. And I was creeped out that she felt she had to wear those glasses inside the tunnel! She was changing lanes so frequently on double lined lanes, that’s like a big no no! It’s one thing to be an efficient driver, and another to attempt to be that and suck at it. I know because I’m a good driver, har! I was freaking out the whole time. Finally, my mom saw the store near the Taipei Main Station and said we will get off there to buy something, which was true. I was glad! Oh and she had this snack that she took out from the compartment beside her and offered it to us?? But maybe she was just being nice.

Then we found Fareastone’s store by accident, I was happy about that. 🙂 Finally, a SIM card!

I found some good finds! I found this extension wire to be extremely cleverly designed, because you see, I am already crazy about those switches – for I’m lazy like that. But see how they did that? I don’t even know how to describe it but sometimes it gets too crowded that one spot doesn’t get occupied at all due to the sizes of the chargers. So this design is very good, in my opinion!!

And then this one that has 2 USB slots!! I don’t have to bring two of these anymore, for my iPhone and Samsung! Isn’t that nice, too!

On other news, it’s fair to say I am disappointed at our staff for not being willing to give up that meal to donate to the victims of typhoon Yolanda. We don’t want to force them, either. So a meal is what they’ll have, even if their one meal could feed hundreds of homeless and hunger-stricken people. *sigh*

Okay, that’s it for now. I’m really tired.

Leave a Reply

